The biggest part of Australian tourism market—Chinese visitors

More and more Chinese visitors like to travel to Australia for their vacation, and the reason that why they choose Australia as their destination needs to be explored that can improve Australian tourism market developments. High quality environment, cheaper and high quality products and a chance of parents to join their child’s graduation are the three main reasons.

 

The increasing number of Chinese visitors has took the great status in Australian tourism market, Chinese visitors is the biggest consumer group. This situation has influence on the other filed in whole Australian society, such as overseas education and property investment. So the reason of Chinese are keen on traveling to Australia cannot be ignored.

 

The high quality of environment in Australia is the first thing to attractive Chinese visitor, especially the air quality. Owing to that Chinese air quality is in a worrying environment issue in Chinese society. PM 2.5 is the most serious issue especially in Beijing, moreover, PM 2.5 still has negative influence on citizen’s healthy. As a result, the high air quality will has the most attraction of Chinese tourists.

 

Chan Chen, who is a Chinese visitor traveling to Australia more than three times in five years, said, “I have travelled to Australia biennially, just because air quality in Australia better than China. I love the weather and the sunshine in Australia, which I cannot feel in China in several years.” Xin Cheng, who is a graduate of the University of Sydney, accompanied with her grandparents and parents, said, “I just want to let my grandparents to feel fresh air and sunshine.”

 

High air quality is taking the great part in choice of Chinese visitors during them making a travelling plan. Sunshine is also another aspect when visitors doing a choice, owing to that PM 2.5 blocking the sunshine, so people cannot receive Vitamin D, so there are some healthy issue in Chinese citizens.

 

Second aspect of reason that Chinese visitors choose Australia as the first choice is that the graduation of their child. To join graduate ceremony and taking a trip in Australia is the reason of most Chinese parents.

635999163

Boshen Wang, who is a manager in a travel agency only for Chinese visitor, said, “Most of Chinese elder visitor travelling to Australia just for their children’s graduate ceremony, and this may the only chance to travel to overseas.” Boshen added, “Because the working schedule affects that they do not have the spare time to travel abroad. Owing to this situation, my company will give the different specific plan for different clients according to their own condition.” Ting Wang who is a mother of a student in the University of Sydney gave a statement about her own travelling experience. “I am very busy in daily working life, I do not have time to travel, not only for overseas trip, but also in domestic travel, if my daughter do not study in Sydney, and maybe I would never have a chance travel to Australia in recent years.” Moreover, she is a client of Boshen’s company, for the reason that she chose an agency for her trip, she said, “I just want to let my trip easily and find an agency to help me to do all the application thing and making a professional plan is better than I do this things by myself.” However, Qiuchen Xie, who is a mother for a student in the University of New South Wales, has different opinion. “I did travelling plan by my son and myself, in my person opinion, this time maybe is my the only chance to travel to Australia, so I want to do the suitable plan for myself, and the experience of the application is a good challenge for me.”

Owing to that more and more Chinese students study in Australia, the tourism market in Australia has been drove. The consumer group in this situation is Chinese parents. In another hand, this will also drive the education income of Australian university. These parents will spread good information of Australian education to their friends, which will attract more Chinese students study abroad.

 

Finally, the reason of Chinese visitors travel to Australia is cheaper and high quality stuffs. The quality of Chinese production is a serious issue, especially, the milk powder of baby. This is the reason that a new career named Daigou occurs, which is a group of Chinese people who study or live in overseas to do purchase to Chinese market in personal way. The most popular production is milk powder of baby.

 

Jie Shu is a manager of a souvenir shop, she said, “Many of my costumers are visitors from China, during the travelling process they will buy many Australian products for their friends and family. Some of them we called MPB (Milk Powder Buyer).” One of the interviewees in the shop said, “I do not want to let my name in a feature, but I can tell my personal experience about the aim of my travelling. When the first time I travelled to Sydney, some of my friends asked me to buy some milk powder for their little baby, and I found it is a good way to earn some money during my trip, I know it is illegal, but this really attract me to do this business. And the cheaper production is really good for me to send gift for my friends and for myself.”

 

Despite buying some souvenirs during trip is an illegal way to earn money, but still many Chinese visitors doing this kind of business. Moreover, cheaper production really attracts some young ladies to travel to Australia to buy it.

 

As for Chinese visitors, Australia is heaven of travelling. High quality environment, cheaper products and suitable travelling service specific for Chinese parents, these elements are the good for Chinese visitors experience in Australia.

 

(Word count: 980)

3 thoughts on “The biggest part of Australian tourism market—Chinese visitors

  1. Hi, Jialiellen. Your article followed a clear structure, which is good. And the topic of your article is interesting and popular.

    You interviewed people of different backgrounds, like a Chinese visitor, a gradate student of the University of Sydney, a relative of the student who studying in Sydney, and etc, which is beneficial to the story and make the story comprehensive as a whole.

    I noticed that you used tags to categorize your article to ease the navigation of internet for readers, do you think adding some hyperlinks would be better for readers to get more information about the Chinese visitors? I think you should make some improvements on the aspect of online delivery of your article.

    Furthermore, there are some grammar mistakes in your article that need to be corrected, which would influence the readers’ reading efficiency. And I admit that I also need to be aware of the grammar mistakes in my article and make efforts to write authentic sentences.

    In order to make your article more convincing and vivid, I suggest you add more photos or a video to enrich your content. For example, you stated that Chinese visitors love the environment of Australia, so you could take photos of a city in China like Beijng you mentioned and a city in Australia like Sydney to make a visualized contrast. In addition, I think the photo you uploaded should has a caption, which could be better.

    Like

  2. Hello Jiali Li! The topic of your feature is interesting. I have never thought about the influences and the reason why there are increasing number of Chinese visitors come to Australia. The international travel is popular among Chinese people, in addition, Australia seems like one of the most popular direction of them.
    I have some suggestions about your feature story, firstly, some paragraphs is a little bit long which difficult to read. The grammar mistakes need to be fixed to help readers to read your feature story smoothly.
    Secondly, do you think if there are more pictures or some useful websites which related to your story might be better and helpful for readers to know more about your topic? I think those elements could make your story more attractive and vivid.
    Finally, subtitles could make the structure of your story looks more clear and could be helpful for solving the problem that some paragraphs of the feature are long.
    Hope my suggestions could be helpful.

    Like

  3. Hi Ellen,

    I likes your topic very much. As an international student myself, I also like visit Australia and find that there are many Chinese people visit it. Your feature follows a clear structure, you list the reason why Chinese visit Australia and interview many Chinese people. You categorize your feature by topic which improve the scannability of this article.

    However, I have some suggestions for this feature.

    Maybe you could use some data such as how many Chinese people come to Australia, how much they spend in Australia to support your feature.

    It is better to use some hyperlinks, sub-headings to chunk the long article, and it would be easier for readers to read. Hyperlinks could be used to provide related information or show the source of some data.

    I notice you use an image in the feature, I suggest you could use more images like Chinese visiting main scenic spots such as Opera House, Harbour Bridge and so on, and they could attract more audiences. Videos could be included as well.

    Overall, it’s a good feature story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

